You Can Do Anything

I’ve had a day of wanting to get lots done but not actually doing it. Those little jobs that crop up like roots and vines in a forest when you are running from a tiger, or toward a glittering river after trekking all day in the sweltering jungle might be a more apt description, have tripped me. It’s left me feeling incomplete – because I’ve left many other things incomplete. I’m empathic like that. I hate empathy. It’ll destroy the world one day.

That, paired with the death of one of my favourite areas of the Internet, Vine, the Twitter video app, has left me feeling melancholy. Many people hated Vine for the incessant chatter of idiotic attempts at comedy, but I was a secret Viner from the beginning. The simple, robust nature of the app forced creativity into being, and the looping nature of the playback revealed patterns in nature and our lives that was sometimes funny, sometimes fascinating. I loved it. And amongst it, all the seas of idiots and timewasters, there were a few real inspiring talents and sweethearts. I’ll miss it.

I’m working on another short story. This one’s more of a traditional fantasy too, but I do want to try something different soon. I just had this idea while watching a film, I wanted to take the plot in another direction, so that’s basically what I’m doing. I get a lot of ideas like that. “No, don’t do it like that, do it like this!” Because I know better of course.

Well, I’ll get to it, but maybe I’ll also just wrap myself up in the futon blanket I just rescued from the loft in preparation for winter and mope in front of Ash vs The Evil Dead while I eat ice cream. Both are enviable life goals. Just want to give a shout out to all the people who have read, followed, liked or commented on my blog so far.Already too many for me to name! I love you guys.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How does inspiration strike you? Out of the blue or the continuation of someone else’s thought? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

