Damsel Official Art

Big news # 1: A while ago, I was browsing Instagram, like I normally do, looking at fantastic art and seeing what to share, what to like and considering my next post, when I stopped in my tracks on the feed of an recommended artist. I had already fallen in love with the artist’s style, but this one picture perfectly portrayed the heroine of my most recent WIP, The Damsel. I liked it and commented how much I wanted it, in a pitiful childish manner, yet it wasn’t enough. Hesitation held me back a moment, but didn’t stop me from messaging the artist directly and asking them if I could buy this piece and explaining how much it fit my own work – it was perfect – and made me feel much more like an adult.

A few days passed and I almost forgot about it. I got a reply. After a brief conversation, the artist in question said she wouldn’t sell it but I could freely use it as official art for my novel. I couldn’t believe it. I had my purse open. They said I could use it for free.

So, now The Damsel has its first concept sketch, possible book cover and a ton more motivation for me to finish it quickly! Below is the drawing in question. Please check out more of the work by the same artist: mjj_nz on Instagram. She does some endearing and detailed character sketches, more life-like than a comic book, but soft, and warm hearted in design.

The Damsel is a NA (New Adult) novel about the only normal girl born into a world of superheroes and villains. Revered as a figurehead of fragile beauty that must be rescued again and again, Sara, like any chosen one, just wants to be like everyone else and not have to depend on others. She trains herself, but to be a hero she’s going to have to earn it, and where friends arise, so do enemies.

img_5463

So I know, I used this picture before, but you maybe thought I stole it. Not the case, I’m honest, you should know that by now. I’m thinking of cropping it down to a close up of her bandaging her wrists, maybe with a black vignette to make the book cover. Something like…

img_1913

… but made much better by a professional who knows what they are doing and takes more than 10 minutes on it in an iPad app. Maybe. It’s an idea, but plenty of time to think about that in the future. On with the writing!!

What do you think of the drawing? Does it give you any expectations for the story or the character? I’d be interested to know, and if you like the image, why not share it with my pre-made tweet. Just click to share:

Tweet: @imagineemmajun’s #TheDamsel has its 1st official art. Chosen to be a hostage, fighting to be a hero. See it here https://ctt.ec/AUjFU+

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ignitedmoth says:

    I really like the artwork! That must have been so exciting when the artist okayed you to use it. They are very talented and that was so nice of them. 🙂
    I like how the image works with the title “The Damsel”. She looks like a tough girl that can take care of herself, so it totally blasts the “damsel in distress” impression one might get from the title alone right out of the water. Very nice!

    Like

    1. That’s the idea! The concept is that she would be a ‘perfect’ girl in our world but she’s practically disabled in hers. Yes it was very exciting. I couldn’t believe they’d just give it away

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joan Enoch says:

    The drawing is great. I take it that the cropped version would fit in with your WIP specifically – in which case, it would look really good, and help draw the reader in.

    Like

    1. Thanks. I’m not sure exactly how I will use it but there’s plenty of time to figure it out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

