I am a Passenger

Image courtesy of JLawFilms

Last night I watched Passengers with the similarly named Iggy Pop song running through my head while I loaded it up. As it turned out, it wasn’t anything to do with the song and didn’t even use it. I’m pleased to say that I wasn’t disappointed any further. Even when my movie watching partner said “This is supposed to be Twilight in space” I blindly forged ahead determined to enjoy it, because Chris Pratt is cool as hell and Jennifer Lawrence is about one of the greatest women to ever appear on screen. That might be a slight exaggeration, but she is the only movie star I’ve had a crush on in the past 5 years that isn’t Karen Gillan. I had been hoping for a killer robot or alien plotline that the trailer was hiding – it was pretty ambiguous – but it was primarily a love story. Thing is, I didn’t mind. It was the first love story in ages that I’ve been drawn into. Though it probably was because of the actors.

I related heavily with Pratt alone on the space ship for a year going crazy (how the hell did that guy in Interstellar last 40 odd years alone? Ridiculous!) and I can honestly say that I would have done the same thing he did to get company. In fact, I challenge anyone, especially those who criticize the movie, to go so long all by themselves and not give in to the same temptation. I also related with Jen as she went through her arc and well, the ending was manufactured but acceptable. I didn’t buy his redemption moment because they made such a big deal about the problem throughout the movie, and the cheesiness of the conclusion just highlighted it as a Hollywood film through and through.

Not just any Hollywood film though, but yet another one about kidnapping and Stockholm syndrome. The other being the revamped Beauty and the Beast. Now there’s a film I have several problems with. It’s a remake, it’s a kidnapping movie, it has practically no plot, the beast is far too beautiful and the beauty is far too plain. Anyway, I digress. I had an argument with a friend about this movie and it ended up with me insisting that she was smart and her insisting she was dumb. It was the nicest argument ever. I wish all arguments could be like that. Then the Internet and the world would be a lovely place.

The bit I really want to talk about though, is the spoilery bit, so don’t read anymore if you don’t want to know the main plot and ending of Passengers. I will tell you that it gets a ‘recommended passable’ rating on my scale though. It’s nothing groundbreaking, but enjoyable.

SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS

All good? Ok. Well, in the movie, as we all know, he is alone for a year, decides to wake up a woman he placed up on a space pedestal, falls in love, she finds out the truth and they split up but reconcile after some life threatening disaster makes them realize they have to care for each other because they are all that they have. While I was watching this begin, I again became aware of how I distance myself from the emotions and petty squabbles of life, but I’m not sure if it is a gift or a curse. I knew I would do the same thing in his situation, because humans are not designed to be alone and I knew eventually she would forgive him. Not because of the cheesy disaster that encourages bonding, but because she would have no choice – they were utterly alone. I knew she would find out, get angry, want him to die, and be cold to him for a long time but I knew it would be worth it, like it was all stages of a journey that had to be taken to get what you wanted. I don’t know if that is a good thing or not. I guess I look too far ahead and don’t pay concern to the small emotional moments… but should we? As writers, certainly, I need to be able to draw in my readers, but in life I think it’s best to look ahead to the final goal. It makes all the trouble worthwhile and allows us to choose what truly is best.

In short, I’m that guy in Watchmen that would sacrifice millions to save billions.

Where do you stand on that morally grey area? Have you seen the movie? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

