How to move on from quitting your job

Yeah, so I did that, and I’ve been mulling over what to do about it for a while now. As followers will know, I applied for an online Master’s course in Creative Writing at the start of the year, but while they were in the process of deciding if they wanted me (let’s face it, they would have said yes) I got an email from them saying that they had cancelled the course because of staffing problems – and this is from a highly regarded university. So, the temporary job that was to see me through until I got the degree – if that far – suddenly became my only purpose in life (other than writing, which I was having increasing less time for) and so I got depressed. Also, the job was filled with annoying customers who may be planning the happiest day of their lives but they made every day of my life miserable. Most of them were so picky, and perfectionists too. It was in a wedding reception company, helping choose the clothes and plan the ceremony and parties for weddings. There are much more simple, less annoying jobs that pay rubbish which I can do, so I quit.

That leaves me in the position of wondering what I am going to do now. I can apply for the Master’s again next year, but this year is a weird period of stasis. I can have lots of free time to write, but I also have to live. So I’ll have to find more work eventually. While mulling it over I’ve been enjoying some days out and sightseeing, just for the hell of it. I’ve jumped on more random trains than a superhero chasing a villain through New York. It’s been fun, but there’s that cloud hanging over me telling me that the money will run out soon… life is a cage. A really, really big cage. Sometimes. I don’t know where I was going with that.

Leave a Reply

